January 1, 2013

  • New Year’s (Updated from 2012 to 2013)

    It’s 2013! Happy New Year’s everyone! I thought I would go back and find my resolutions from 2012 and see how things went. So here, in quotes, is my post from last year.

    “So it’s New Year’s Eve. Time to wonder about New Year’s Resolutions and things related to 2012. So I have two questions for you.

    First: What is/are your New Year’s Resolution(s)?

    Second: What do you think will happen in 2012?

    My answer to the first is that I want to be about half-way through my novel by this time next year. I don’t want to say “Start a novel”, because I’ll do that Jan. 9th or 10th. I also don’t want to say “Finish a novel”, because I despise working with deadlines. So, “Get half-way through a novel” is directly in between and should be attainable.

    My answer to the second is that I’m really worried about what’s going to happen the closer we get to the date 12/21/12. I personally don’t believe the world will end on that date, but thanks to movies like 2012 and other such nonsense I wonder if it’s going to be a replay of the whole Y2K scare. You know, people going and stocking up on canned goods and water and hunkering (sp?) down in their basements the night of 12/20/12 hoping that nobody says to himself, “Well the worlds about to end so hey, why not go looting” and pick the house with innocent people inside where people are just hoping to get to 12/22/12 undisturbed. That kind of thing has me worried.

    Your thoughts?”

    And here is how I did in relation to my New Year’s questions.

    I am about a quarter of the way through my first novel. For the first part of the year I purposefully took two weeks per chapter so that I didn’t burn myself out or get bored with it or what have you. The latter part of the year I amped it up to a chapter a week. I think there will be about 40 chapters when all is said and done and I am up to chapter 11. Again, just like last year I will start up again in January.

    And you’ll note that I said ‘first novel’. I have begun a second novel. This one is in its’ infant stages. I am only writing about a page a day so that I can give myself time to get to know the characters and see what I want to do with it.

    And the second part? Once California did not drop into the ocean, and once Yellowstone did not become a supervolcano and all that, I figured we were safe for 12/21/12. I saw Skyfall with my younger brothers and so that was a nice way to spend the day.

    And now for my New Year’s Resolution for 2013.

    1. Get to the halfway point of novel number one. I got to the 25% mark in 2012, so getting to the 50% mark in 2013 is fairly realistic, don’t you think?

    2. Get at least two thirds of the way through novel number two as I will write it at the same time as number one and will also write it during the summer months as well. This one is not going to be as long as number one, so this goal is realistic.

    3. Get glasses. Sigh. I have a hard time reading the scores on even HD now, so it is time to think about glasses.

    4. And last but certainly not least is to continue with my Cognitive Behavior Therapy and discover new ways to defeat my anxiety.

Comments (2)

  • 50% is definitely attainable.  I feel like I should know this, so I apologize for asking, but what is the novel about?  First and second novel.  :)

  • @light_blue_fables -  1st novel is an allegory about Christianity set in the world of the NES game Final Fantasy. The 2nd will be another Christian allegory set to take place during a women’s world cup soccer match. The first will likely never be published. The second will at least not be based in an existing universe so it has a chance to be published if it is good enough. And no worries about asking what they are about. I don’t speak much on what they are about because I am a bit paranoid that someone would take my ideas.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *