January 3, 2013

  • CBT (Part 7)

    This afternoon’s therapy session was a so-so session. Both my doctor and I were coming off lengthy vacations and so neither of us were full throttle today. The main development actually occured back on December 23rd when the local paper published an article related to the Sandy Hook Elementary School tragedy. The article was written by someone very closely associated with the Medical Center I go to for treament and therapy. My mindset after reaading it was that perhaps it is time to seek treatment elsewhere. My mindset before my therapist/doctor read the article was all about finding out whether the article was a reflection of his views as well. They were not and I felt encouraged by that.

    I pay my own way for my regular doctor visits, but the therapy part is covered through a grant for him to further his education towards becoming a cognitive behavioral therapist. As his first real patient I am kind of a guinea pig for him, and I feel a certain sense of responsibility towards helping him maximize his potential. I would say that I feel as much responsibility towards him as he does towards me. So what I have decided is that once my CBT treatment is finished and my therapist/doctor moves on from both roles into the next phase of his medical education, I will begin the process of seeking treatment at one of the other medical centers in Columbus. It will not be an easy move, but the principled move never is.

    Now to get to how I did on the three main goals. If you would like to catch up on the last 6 parts of my CBT series, you can start HERE.

    Goal #1. Separation Anxiety. I did not get much of a chance to work on this goal as everybody in my family was home for the holiday season.

    Goal #2. Dogs. I really thought that when Leanard came over with my brother and sister in law on Christmas Eve that it would feel like yet another invasion. But while there was a minor incident with one of my cats, I think I was bound and determined not to let it, or him, ruin the day. And in the end it turned out to be one of the best days of the year. Honest! I take that as a sure sign that the therapy is working.

    Goal #3. Weddings. I look forward to the next time I can hang out with Brad. I rather liked the little pizza place we went to last time. It was nice and comfy and conducive to quality conversation. I think he can see for himself that I’m just a regular guy who happens to have a couple screws loose and so sometime this year I will meet his wife. When that will happen I will leave up to him. Other than that I didn’t really work much on this goal.

    @mypublicsite @megabyyte @foodhog @light_blue_fables @heytherejoann @isitreal_no

Comments (3)

  • maybe not a full throttle, but seems that you’ve had a positive couple of weeks, so full throttle maybe is something that wasn’t necessary today.
    Peace,
    Hunt

  • Hey that’s awesome to hear you write that Christmas was one of the best days of the year! And about Lenard. You must be feeling a bit excited about the changes? I wish Alex would get regular help…he’s getting an injection now and refuses to go see someone. I feel like he won’t get anywhere until he has some insight. Oh well, you’re doing great!

  • About Goal #2– Yay! That’s great, Dan! Hugs! You’re doing great!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *